Tecno D5 Android phone: Full review, specifications and Features!

Tecno Mobile has recently released a new Android mobile Tecno D5 in the market and this is the full review and specifications or features of Tecno D5 Android device.

Some days back, we reviewed the predecessor of Tecno D5

called Tecno D3 Android device. You can click the link to read that review and have a view of its short coming and what we expected from this Tecno D5 Phone.
Today I sang with, played with and of course almost slept with the new Tecno D5 just to make sure that I bring an excellent review of Tecno D5 to you so that you get a first hand information of the phone you plan to buy or you already own!

Unpacking the phone: Tecno D5 comes with a smart looking typical Tecno rectangular box that has a full colour graphic display of the mobile device that lies inside it.

 

Techno D5 phone and pack

Techno D5 phone and pack

The Make sure it is Tecno sticker at the top left of the pack reminds you that would see a FREE 8GB memory card inside of the box. This is guaranteed by Tecno. When I opened the packet, I saw a cute looking device that longed to be set free from the darkness of the box by hand, of course I lifted it up and the little Android on it smiled :)

Tecno D5 box

Tecno D5 box

Design: The design of Tecno D5 is superb. It is now conclusive that Tecno mobile, like many Android devices will now always be buttonless so Tecno D5 is no less. The 4 inched screen device is of light weight, slim with rounded corners that will readily slide into your pocket. So Mymobnet! Thinks the design of Tecno D5 is great.

Tecno D5 Android phone

Tecno D5 Android phone

Speed: Tecno D5 Android device has a speed that is not bad at all. The phone is loaded with a 512MB RAM just like the Tecno n7 and we don’t think it’s is a purely bad idea. So the speed is okay. Camera takes about 3 seconds to boot and other apps responds quickly. Did we just say that Tecno D5 is a great phone? Of course NO!

Camera:  If you wanted a phone that takes great pictures then I’m afraid that Tecno D5 isn’t for you! It comes with a 3MP back camera with flash. The flash of Tecno D5 is not completely useless because it adds some lightening effect in a fairly dark environment. But the camera generally will not take an excellent image except in a well lightened (or daylight) environment. The camera is poor!

Internet connectivity: It may not be fair to state clearly here that Tecno D5 will soon be inconsequential in the Android phone market. Little good can be said about this phone as long as surfing the net is concerned and I tell every one now that Tecno D5 Android device has no 3G support! Last time when I reviewed Tecno D3 I shrewedly asserted that we hate Android phones with no 3G but now I plainly declare that an Android phone with no 3G support is slightly greater than a Java phone. We hate it Tecno! :( Please we need 3G phones even if it means adding extra bucks to the price of the phones!!!
Tecno D5 alternatively has a WI-FI support, so there is still hope of getting a high speed connection on the go.

Display: The display of Tecno D5 is superb. It is at least better than Tecno n7 because it is a 4” device with a 480*800 resolution.

Internal storage: The in built memory is same as the Tecno D3 but 512MB isn’t too bad.

A lot can be said of this Android device from Tecno. A lot of people have believed fake specs of the phone from unconfirmed sources. Now look at the official Tecno specifications and features of Tecno D5:

TECNO D5 ANDROID PHONE: FULL SPECIFICATIONS AND FEATURES.

  • Camera:                      3.0 Mega pixels with flash, front camera
  • Operating System:     Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich
  • Screen size:                 4.0  Capacitive touch screen
  • Dimension                  126*65*10.4
  • Processor:                   1Ghz duo core
  • Internal Storage:       512MB ROM expandable to 32Gb and free 8Gb memory card
  • RAM:                           512MB
  • Connectivity:             GPRS, EDGE (GSM 900/1200)
  • WI-FI and BLUETOOTH 3.0 SUPORTED
  • DUAL SIM:                  Yes
  • Battery:                      BL-5Q 1800Mah
  • Sensor:                        G-Sensor, Proximity Sensor

I got the price range of Tecno D5 at N12,000 to N13,000.

I have given you a detailed review of this phone. You may want to buy it now or wait for a better one. Follow me on Twitter and Facebook page and also subscribe to our latest posts below to get the latest articles delivered to you for FREE!


 


Hope you enjoyed this post. Please follow us on Twitter @Mymobnet and LIKE our Facebook page at the left sidebar (PC) or below (Mobile) to stay updated in the happenings around the technology world! We can assist you faster via the Social media interactions!

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 6.4/10 (5 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
Tecno D5 Android phone: Full review, specifications and Features!, 6.4 out of 10 based on 5 ratings

About Chekwas Ojike

Chekwas is simply a Tech enthusiast, trained physicist, blogger, works as IT Manager...amongst other things. I can help you build and design any kind of website with first class feel and look. Call/SMS him +234805... (But hey I get tonnes of call everyday even at my work place! Why don't you rather post your comment for immediate reply?) or use the contact page to email me dirctly Follow him on twitter @Mymobnet, Facebook Page :) and My Google Plus

44 thoughts on “Tecno D5 Android phone: Full review, specifications and Features!

  1. how can i unlock my Tecno D5 phone? my aunt son played game with it n d phone got locked and he mistakenly input the wrong pattern. and now i cant asses the phone after using my google account. what cab i do?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. hi, my tecno d5 WI-FI MAC address an IP Address is unavailable don’t search any wireless connection can u give help pls. thk

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. PLEASE DOES THE BATTERY IN D5 STRONG?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 1.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  4. I would like to know if 3G can be downloaded into D5

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. Simply desire to say your article is as amazing. The clarity in your post is just excellent and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. can tecno d5 support skype,tango & oovoo?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Tecno D5 has no 3G so you will not get the best from Skype. But it supports the compatible versions of those apps. Try them from Google Play store to be sure

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. well i just bot dat tecno d5 nd to tell u the truth,the camera is more clearer than that of n3.,cos av usd tecno n3 before bt the internal memory is kinnda low.mine is like 170 mb.bt i like d phone evn witout 3g.the android 4.0 and the screen size really mks a lot of sense

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. does D5 support skype and instagram,pls i need an answer asap. i dnt want any regrets.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Yes it supports WhatsApp. If you eventually get Skype you wouldn’t Enjoy Video calling on it because D5 has no 3G network.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  9. Does tecno D5 support instagram,skype and keek. i want to get the phone tomorrow,pls i need an answer as soon as possible. ilike big screen phones so i won’t like to go for Q1 and n7 is just too big.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  10. Which of the Tecno Android Smartphones has a combined 2G/3G/4G and also not too big, i.e. pocket-friendly.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. Which of the Tecno Android smartphones has 2G, 3G and 4G

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  12. Please mr Chekwas Ojike, i need a website, where i can download 2go v3.5.7 that has ..apk extension files type because it seeen like it doesn’t support java app and symbian app like .jar or .sisx and a website where i go download football like pes or realfootball. Please mr chekwas ojike i nid it urgently

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 3.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  13. So, it means there’s a way to customised this phone and enable 3G network on it?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  14. can I download the 3g software and install on the d5

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  15. Pls Does it support applications like whatsapp,2go….

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
  16. where is the best store to get this phone and for what range?

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  17. I ‘ll try and get ‘n7′ but if i can’t afford it i’ll get ‘d5′ bcos navigation and gesture on ‘ICS is far better than gingerbread.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  18. This means that even if it has a from camera, it cant make a video calling via skype cause of it’s lack of 3G SUPPORT?, please answer!!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • 3G is only a measurement of the speed of your data connection. You can use Skype on 2G but the live stream will not be that smooth you know.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  19. pls blogger, i want to know if this d5 can do stream video,play youtube smoothly and web tv,pls i need quick response bcos i want to get d phone.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • thanks Ojike,at least i know it can do everything,it just only the matter of speed, but at same time the 1GHZ dual core will help matter a bit.

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • please i wan to know the types of e-books the d5 can read (power point, pdf, word …)

        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
        VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • Please and please, my Techno D5 stop browsing With my mtn but. The works very well with my BBC and the data usage in my Techno D5 is showing warning for some days now. I’m so confuse as this is a new phone and I love it’s features truly. Please help;I want my phone back. Thank

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
      • Do you download heavy files from the internet and what MTN plan do you use?
        You have no need to worry, Salome

        VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
        VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
        Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  20. why is’t est tecno D3 and D5 dosn’t last stall? pls answer me.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>